Question About Strip Layout

Started by zombiwoof, March 28, 2008, 05:22:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zombiwoof

What do the red squares with red dots in the middle mean in a layout such as this:

http://www.aronnelson.com/gallery/main.php/v/Grooveyard/gywahoutputbuffer.jpg.html

Thanks,
Al

GREEN FUZ

The trace needs to be cut at that point.

zombiwoof

Thanks, that's what I thought, but I wanted to make sure.  I've never used stripboard before, and I'm thinking of building that wah buffer using it.

Al

Novice

I myself like the idea of stripboard, but having never tried it, I'm curious - How would you go about cutting the trace?
A very beginner question I know, but I guess if all else fails I'll take an x-acto knife to it ::)

zombiwoof

Quote from: Novice on March 29, 2008, 06:09:58 PM
I myself like the idea of stripboard, but having never tried it, I'm curious - How would you go about cutting the trace?
A very beginner question I know, but I guess if all else fails I'll take an x-acto knife to it ::)

I wondered the same thing, and through searching the FAQ here and the threads it took me to, I found this page:

http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/stripbd.htm

Everything you need to know, and the rest of that site has much more info on other things electronic.  Seems that a tool or a drill bit is the best solution.

Al

earthtonesaudio

It's best to cut the strips before you put any components on.  That way you can have the board flat, against a hard surface.

I like to use the sanding discs with my Dremel tool.

Rather than an exacto knife, I would use a large drill bit wrapped in heavy cloth or leather.  You could get a nice twisting motion to take out most of the trace in a few passes.

...Also it'd be less likely to slip and cut your hand if you were twisting rather than slicing.

nokaster

i use a 3mm drill for cutting traces. works a charm!

aron

Yes, I drill mine using a dremel.

ConanB