News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

valvecaster

Started by 12bar13, May 08, 2008, 05:13:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

12bar13

i'm thinking of building a diy valve caster.  has anyone done one of these? i've never done anything with tubes before so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

frequencycentral

Great build. You can mount most of the components on the tube socket. Get yourself a nice 12 volt regulated wallwart though - battery power is nice for portability but you'll eat through them. I'd never done tubes before either. Build an LPB-1 at the front end to drive it harder.

EDIT: Oh, and its quite safe to build this circuit wearing sandals!
http://www.frequencycentral.co.uk/

Questo è il fiore del partigiano morto per la libertà!

12bar13

Quote from: frequencycentral on May 08, 2008, 06:25:43 PM
Great build. You can mount most of the components on the tube socket. Get yourself a nice 12 volt regulated wallwart though - battery power is nice for portability but you'll eat through them. I'd never done tubes before either. Build an LPB-1 at the front end to drive it harder.

i think this will be the "brown toe" especially with the tube sticking out.

what is the difference between the major types of tubes? there are so many out there and i have no idea what the difference is.

ambulancevoice

Quote from: 12bar13 on May 08, 2008, 10:07:25 PM
Quote from: frequencycentral on May 08, 2008, 06:25:43 PM

i think this will be the "brown toe" especially with the tube sticking out.

what is the difference between the major types of tubes? there are so many out there and i have no idea what the difference is.

well, alot of them have different characteristics
the russian electro harmonix tubes are cheap and work but have a few issues, but ive heard they work good in a valve caster, JJ  Telsa make good tubes, i hear good things about them, and i see them used alot