4-knob Silicon Tonebender -- Schem and Vero

Started by Derringer, June 14, 2008, 04:05:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Derringer

Ok, so here's what I've been working on for a while now. It's currently breadboarded and I think it's time to commit it to an actual pedal!  ;D

Here's the schem and my first attempt at a vero layout using the awesome DIY Layout Creator.

I know that the only way to be 100% sure that the vero layout is correct is to build it ... but I figured I'd show what I have to the community here first and see if anyone spots any problems. I did go through it and did correct a few mistakes ... but like I said, this is my first time going from schem to vero.

Thanks for any input and feel free to use the design (if you wish to) however you want.

Naz Nomad

... riding a Lissajous curve to oblivion.

Gus

A few things that you might want to investigate, you posted it is still on the breadboard.  Have you built or looked at the Hot Si?

The first stage has a grounded emitter and and you have it marked and maybe needing an C to B resistor adjustment and you have the collector voltage close to 9VDC already.  Take a look at the Hot Si input section a "standard" textbook circuit fragment.
  With one transistor you can both control the gain and set the operating point you want.
Adjust the "top" base bias resistor in the Hot Si input to shift the collector voltage.

The output stage you might be able to combine R15 and R17(in parallel)  and move C10 to the other side of R15,R17 and adjust R16 to adjust the bias  OR you could set the output stage to load the tone section less with a higher Hfe transistor and different resistor values.

Did you try taking the output of the FF section to the tone control section off the collector of Q5?  This will allow the output section to operate at lower gain
or
Remove Q7s section maybe make R15 a 100K volume pot with a cap between R13 and R14 node and the pot and remove stuff to the right of R15.