[Project] Phase 90 w/ ramp LFO. Need some help

Started by mdaudet, July 02, 2008, 02:17:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mdaudet

Hi everyone.

My name is Matt and this is my first post, but I'm a legendary reader at this forum :D

I have some experience building guitar effects, but now I have a major issue that I can't solve by myself.

In addition to have more freaky & weird sounds, i was planning to add an extra LFO to the phase 90 phaser. The chosen one was the "Ramp up/down" designed by Mr. R.G Keen.

http://www.geofex.com/FX_images/p90ramp.pdf

I've designed the PCB (wich i would share to the community if it works) and mount all the components, exactly as RG's schematic. I reproduce the whole LFO section, so I can choose between the stock LFO and the Ramp one (next i was planning to combine them  :icon_cool:) So, my layout consist in two opamps: LM358 and a TL072, with all the parts involved.

To the point: This LFO doesn't oscillate (sweep, phase, juiiiiuuu, etc) at all. For some reason the schmitt trigger opamp does not turn the transistor off to get the oscillation. Moving the trimmer I can hear some sweeps, but only when I move it, like a manual LFO. The stock LFO works fine by the way.

I've read all the topics related to the phase 90 ramp mod (there are only a few) without getting any idea to make this thing work.

Have anyone tried this mod? Any suggestions? Any idea?

I'll be very, very happy if you help me to make this thing work.

thanks a lot.

regards...

Matt

dschwartz

hola matias!!!
have u tested the speed pot? maybe is sweeping too fast, and that´s why you hear a change in sweep when turning the trim
----------------------------------------------------------
Tubes are overrated!!

http://www.simplifieramp.com

mdaudet

You say that i should change it for a higher value, like 100K? The 10K isn't broke at all, so I'll perform the mod you suggest. Thanks friend.