Bypass idea... am i out of my mind?

Started by lontano, July 17, 2008, 06:33:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lontano

hi!

This is my very first post in this forum, i've been lurking in the shadows for a while getting some info here and there (i'm fairly new to stompbox doityourselfing).

I've been building a fretzer valve starting from the schematic, and came to the eternal problem of true-bypassing the circuit. I finally came to the conclussion of the schematic, but i'm no sure it's a ridiculous idea or not. The idea was to use a DPDT switch to true-bypass the circuit but i also want a on/off  LED, so i'm using one of the switches to select the output signal between the input signal and the FX output, and the other switch to connect/disconnect the FX from its mass connection. This way i think there will be no "tone sucking", but i'm wondering if there will be other side effects... Am i a genius or a fool?

PD. i'm sorry if there's a topic going on about bypassing, couldn't find it

petemoore

Jfet inputs can be configured to be very high impedance.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

MarcoMike

but no-ground on the circuit means no power, and it may take some time to wake up after you turn the switch on....
this time may be low enough... or not. just try!
Only those who attempt the absurd will achieve the impossible.

petemoore

Whoops...yupp: it may take some time to wake up after you turn the switch on....
  Probably easiest to keep the bypass from popping by keeping the power supply connected.
  [lol?] See how long a 'Supercap' [I read about these a while back, have never seen one implimented...] holds voltage up on the circuit, my guess is that it may not hold a voltage long enough to avoid popping when bypass recharges it though.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

lontano