Powder Coating Tutorial and Discussion

Started by PerroGrande, October 04, 2008, 03:49:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PerroGrande

I'd like to first thank everyone who sent me kind words about the powder coating samples I posted in the PICTURES thread.  Enough people seemed interested in the process that I thought it would be cool to start a thread to discuss this process.

I had the opportunity today to photograph the majority of my gear and the process I've developed.  There is no time like the present, so here we go with the tutorial thread.

DISCLAIMERS!!!

1) I'm not an employee or a shill for Eastwoodco.com or PowderBuyThePound.com.  I'm using their stuff in my examples because that is what I happen to have.
2) I'm not an expert nor highly experienced powder coater.  I'm still learning.  However, I've made a lot of progress and can generally produce acceptable results.
3) I don't have pro gear, and a lot of the stuff I use is rigged together.  I'm doing all this on a budget.  :)
4) If you have suggestions/improvements/etc., please POST THEM and share the knowledge.
5) I'm not trying to steal business from PPP, Small Bear, or any other powder coater out there.  For the majority of folks, buying a powder coated enclosure may be the best alternative.  I got into this because I love learning new things and like to be a self-sufficient as possible...
6) Powder Coating is vastly superior environmentally to paint, from all the research I've done.  However, that doesn't mean that you shouldn't exercise appropriate caution when doing this...

Okay!!!

Let's start with the gear that I'm using...

PerroGrande

I started by purchasing a kit from www.eastwoodco.com. 

You can see it here:  http://www.eastwoodco.com/shopping/product/detailmain.jsp?itemID=5572&itemType=PRODUCT&iMainCat=459&iSubCat=460&iProductID=5572

They have other kits, both lower and higher in price.  I wanted to get all the major components along with a few colors right from the beginning.