another octave-up post.

Started by 1878, October 08, 2008, 11:57:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hello Everyone.

I'm after something with a lead tone similar to a Muff, but with the octave added. I own a Fender Blender (too squishy, not enough sustain) and a Dan Electro French Toast (not squishy, but NOISY !!) and unfortunately, neither of them do it for me, but the Dan Electro comes closest. I've tried all sorts of different things i.e lowering the gain and placing them before/after other effects, but all to no avail.

There's probably a reason why octave-up effects sound the way they do. Can any of you fine ladies and gentlemen shed some light upon the path to tone Shangri-La ?? I'm no expert in electronics, so please don't feel you're being too descriptive or basic.

Thanks in advance...

earthtonesaudio

Why octave up effects sound like they do depends on the method used to get the octave.
In the analog world, it's either rectification or fundamental cancellation.
Rectifying the signal, either full- or half-wave rectifying, produces the sort of ring-modulated sounding octave up of the Octavia, Green Ringer, and probably the French Toast (which I think is pretty close to the Foxx Tone Machine).
If you put a sine wave into these, it comes out not as a doubled-frequency sine, but as a series of m- or u-shaped waves.  That gives some extra high frequencies to the tone.