Would someone proof this schen

Started by blueherdim7, February 19, 2009, 09:04:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blueherdim7

Hello all-

I wonder if someone more knowledgeable than me would look at this schem for me.  I want to put a switch in this kay fuzz schem to switch between germanium or silicon diodes.  This is my first attempt with eagle, so just want some help to make sure I have drawn it correctly.

https://www.yousendit.com/download/U0d6MWZERnczS3BMWEE9PQ

Thanks

Jon
Pedals built=Kay Fuzz Clone...more to follow!

Cliff Schecht

Two things:
1. That won't work. No matter what position the switch is in you're going to be connecting both diode pairs at the same time. You need a single-pole, double-throw (SPDT) switch, you only have an SPST variant.
2. You don't need to place a junction on every junction where a part connects in Eagle. The only time you need to place a junction, if one isn't placed automagically, is when three or more wires or parts connect at a single point. If you aren't sure if a part is connected, click the "move" command and move the part around. The wires should move with the part, otherwise it's disconnected. If it is disconnected, just click the part with "move" and drop it in the same place (unless you missed the pin, at which point you need to redraw the wire).

blueherdim7

Thanks Cliff-

That's what I was concerned with.  I will change the switch.  I know about the junctions, but with my lack of experience, placing the junctions helps me feel warm and fuzzy!  LOL.

Jon

blueherdim7

Looking back...I think I do have  a spdt switch in, but when I set up the pcb, all 4 diodes are in fact connected at all times.  Any suggestions?  Do I have the schem drawn correctly?

Jon

Cliff Schecht

Sorry, don't know why I was mixing up my switch topologies.. You have a SPDT and need a DPDT. I fixed your schematic and uploaded it here:
http://www.aronnelson.com/DIYFiles/up/Kay_Fuzz_Schem.sch.mp3