News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

ZZ Top

Started by samrsmiley, March 24, 2009, 01:47:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

samrsmiley

Any good suggestions for ZZ Top tone from songs like Brown Sugar or Just got Paid Today?  I know mostly it's his touch and the guitar and amp he's using (I'm sure there are no pedals there).  So I think it might be a Marshall, but since I have no experience with them I don't know.  Any pedals-diy or conventional nail that sound with a AC30 or Fender Deluxe?  Thanks for any help! 

Mike Burgundy

Billy Gibbons is notoriously picky about his tone, and there are stories that he has several programmable graphic EQ's in his signal line to get just what he wants with any guitar. Other than that, for the old stuff, who knows. I think he always used a LOT of different guitars, and amps and cabs right up to a Demeter isolation cab.
I do think EQ has most impact as far as electronics go.
Sorry I couldn't be of any more help.

DougH

Quote from: samrsmiley on March 24, 2009, 01:47:50 AM
Any good suggestions for ZZ Top tone from songs like Brown Sugar or Just got Paid Today?  I know mostly it's his touch and the guitar and amp he's using (I'm sure there are no pedals there).  So I think it might be a Marshall, but since I have no experience with them I don't know.  Any pedals-diy or conventional nail that sound with a AC30 or Fender Deluxe?  Thanks for any help! 

Back in those days it was a cranked marshall amp, mainly. I would look at maybe a marshall guvnor or something like that. You need that marshall middy EQ along with the crunch IMO.
"I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you."

tackleberry