Author Topic: Tremolo like sound from NPN boost  (Read 11753 times)

nimdawg

Tremolo like sound from NPN boost
« on: April 29, 2009, 09:12:34 AM »
Hello,

I'm new here but I've built the NPN boost with the help of the Forum. It worked first time, no soldering problems and stuff though this is my first project. I'm using it with an adaptor on my pedalboard and noticed that besides giving me a boosted signal, it seems to make the volume waver. After listening to it for a while, it's like having a fast tremelo effect on.
What can be causing this (some bad grounding or contacts)? Has it got something to do with the 9v adaptor and if so, is there anything to stabilize this?
PLS help  ???

aron

Re: Tremolo like sound from NPN boost
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2009, 12:21:31 PM »
I think it's the adapter. You want to use a regulated adapter like the One Spot.

The French connection

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2009, 12:38:39 PM »
« Last Edit: April 29, 2009, 12:43:27 PM by The French connection »
I know, but the pedal i built does not boost...it just increases volume!
My picture files:
http://www.aronnelson.com/gallery/main.php/v/French+connection/
http://s193.photobucket.com/albums/z4/letournd/Pedal/

nimdawg

« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 02:27:26 AM »
I think it's the adapter. You want to use a regulated adapter like the One Spot.

I'm using it with a 1 spot ans the enclosure is a hammond aluminum type.
I'll try check the wiring again.

The French connection

« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2009, 09:34:18 AM »
Is the ''tremoloop'' speed change when you turn the volume pot? I've got this problem too with the boost in a plastic box; move it to a metal one and the ''tremolo thing'' stops. So i've concluded that was the box shielding. Try disconnecting your LED for the kicks? ???

Dan
My picture files:

earthtonesaudio

« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 10:15:48 AM »
More info on the problem might help.