Author Topic: Help Please  (Read 9711 times)

hiimbryan

Help Please
« on: August 13, 2009, 09:22:45 PM »
Hi, I'm new to making guitar effects pedals and this beginner project is my first attempt.

I don't have a 3PDT so I used a DPDT without an LED. I put it all together, and the bypass works, but when the effect is engaged I get nothing.

I used an audio probe and sound comes out of the board whether it's bypassed or not!

Any ideas?

Thanks.

caspercody

Re: Help Please
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2009, 09:32:13 PM »
how did you wire the DPDT?

When looking at the switch, from the back, the bottom two terminals should be wired together. One side of the middle terminal goes to the tip of the input jack. The other middle terminal goes to the tip of the output jack. On the top terminals, the side you have going to the input jack, goes to the input on the board. And the top terminal side you have going to the out put jack, goes to the output on the board.

hiimbryan

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2009, 11:05:23 PM »
Yup, i wired it like that. And the bypass works fine.

I disconnected the I/O wires to the circuit board and the switch seems to be working fine.

Does this mean there's a short on my board?

Edit: Okay, I checked the voltage difference between various points and ground and there seems to be a voltage everywhere until I get to the output capacitor. Does this mean the capacitor's blown?
« Last Edit: August 13, 2009, 11:53:06 PM by hiimbryan »

caspercody

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2009, 09:31:00 AM »
What project are you building?

hiimbryan

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2009, 11:30:55 AM »
Just the NPN boost. The beginner project.

hiimbryan

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2009, 02:03:09 PM »
Okay, so after messing with it for a while, I hooked it up again.

The signal now gets through to my amplifier, but it is very low. I have to turn my amp and guitar all the way up to hear anything. This works no matter which way the transistor's oriented.

Help  ???

aron