need help with cathode follower circuit

Started by REGNAD, August 30, 2009, 12:42:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

REGNAD

he folks, i want to build a cathode follower to use in my fx chain. im a tube noob so i have a few questions.
1: will resistor values differ based on the impedances both in front of and after the circuit?
2: if so, how do i determin the impedance/capasitance <- spelling of my rig?
3: is there a schematic of this circuit out there or a calculator to help with these values?
assuming i am right in aplication, i want to add a cathode follower inbetween my guitar and each effect all the way to my tube amp.
thanks in advance!

JKowalski

Quote from: REGNAD on August 30, 2009, 12:42:57 AM
i want to add a cathode follower inbetween my guitar and each effect all the way to my tube amp.

That seems quite unnecessary and complicated. What are you trying to accomplish with this set-up?

http://www.freewebs.com/valvewizard/accf.html

REGNAD

i want a tube buffer between all my pedals.

punkin

Is there a particular reason why it has to be a tube type? There are a bunch of easier circuits that employ transistors. Smaller and simpler to make. Have you seen this? http://www.muzique.com/lab/buffers.htm
Ernie Ball Music Man - JPM, THD Univalve, Grace Big Daddy, PepperShredder, BSIAB2, FireFly Amplifier.

Gus

You could build a CF between each part of the signal chain.  You can find information on the web and in books to build CFs.

That said it might be a waste of time to do, because a CFs(cathode followers), SF(source followers FETs), EF(emitter followers)tend to have little to no added sound(distortion) at the levels in a guitar to amp path.

Two things you could try SFs or bootstrapped EFs(you can find a bootstrapped EF in "The Art of Electronics")

If you want CFs  google, tube cad, Radiotronics 4th edition, etc. or go to you library and look at tube books.

If you use a higher B+ voltage than 9VDC for the tubes you need to be aware of  safety issues.