DAC's - Analog DAC's Which Ones To Use?

Started by WLS, September 24, 2009, 09:31:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WLS

Hi everyone,

I am just getting started into the realm of DSP so please bare with me, but do you have to use a Audio DAC for converting your signal from digital to analog?

Or can you use other much less expensive DACs to perform this function? And if so which type i.e. voltage, current, open drain etc...?

I know that the pics and avrs that I am planning to use contain PWMs, but what would be the best alternative if they where not used in this capacity?

Is their a schematic of a simple circuit that just uses just a pic and a dac->to output? I guess what I am saying is what would be the most economical way to setup a pic or avr for a stomp box design.

Thanks,

Bill
Since I've breadboarded it I can only blame myself.

But It's Just A Chip!

JKowalski

I am just barely into programming (I don't know anything yet)

But I do know there are many PICs with a built in DAC converter. That sounds like exactly what you want.

WLS

I would be very interested in knowing what pic family has built in DAC's.

All the pics and avrs I have looked at. Most of them do have ADC's built into them but leaving the conversion back to analog open ended.

For instance a Attiny26 has 11 single ended ADC channels with 2 high frequency PWMs, 2 timers one with a counter and an Analog Comparator. But no DAC's

I could be wrong but I believe that the chip can run at 16mhz and the PWM at 64mhz full cycle.

Just one method you can use the PWM in conjunction with the compator and timers and external low pass filterring to create a DAC. But the AVR does not have prebuilt DAC's built into it like it has ADC's.

Thus leaving me with the for said mentioned question.

Just for clarity though I am only looking at a couple of pics but primarily looking at the ATmega48's and ATmega168's to work with.