LM1875 power amp problems

Started by MrStab, October 02, 2013, 12:32:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MrStab

hi,

i'm building my first solid-state amp - please bear in mind that i'm not too experienced in that area beyond general maintenance of tube amps - and over two different chips, i've had the same problem: the negative supply rail goes from -18V down to -1.6V whenever i hook up the negative supply to the power amp.

as i originally started out with an old TDA2030, i used the power amp section here: http://www.coldcity.com/index.php/hybrid-guitar-amp/, and the vero layout seems to check out.

for a preamp, i'm using a modified & expanded Xotic BB Preamp, which is essentially a glorified Tube Screamer. it's using a single supply, so when i do get things working i'll probably have to even out the load on both sides.

the sound is crackly with the uneven rails, and louder with just the positive rail connected. there's no continuity between the heatsink and ground, but there is direct continuity between pin 3 of the LM1875 and the heatsink. well, i say no direct continuity to ground, but i measure about 48K resistance on my DMM (and 1480 on my continuity setting) between the heatsink & ground. goes up as the heatsink cools, to be expected i guess.

i only have one left, please don't tell me i'll have to go through 3 in a day :( lol (i fried one by putting it in wrong altogether, stupid error).

any help appreciated, i'll be happy to provide as much info as i can.
Recovered guitar player.
Electronics manufacturer.

MrStab

just noticed: with the negative rail disconnected, i'm getting about 5V on pin 3/ heatsink
Recovered guitar player.

MrStab