News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

DIY eBow

Started by Guitarfreak, December 01, 2009, 11:15:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guitarfreak

I know this topic has been covered a number of times all over the internet, and I have found a number of threads discussing the topic, but I am totally new to this so I think I need a schematic or something.  I need to know what kind of PCB to get and what components and where they go and everything.  Sorry for being such a total noob, but I am having trouble finding a schematic for a very simple DIY project.

anchovie

Sure, in terms of what goes on a board it's simple. But how are you going to handle the magnetic aspect and what are you going to house it in so that you can keep it steady over a string?

As you are totally new to this, I suggest you build something else.
Bringing you yesterday's technology tomorrow.

jacobyjd

Essentially, this is one of those projects that isn't really worth the time and effort, unless you're building it to show off your skillz. Really, there's no practical DIY way to build an ebow into a package as small as the commercial product without dishing out a whole lot of cash.
Warsaw, Indiana's poetic love rock band: http://www.bellwethermusic.net

Thomeeque

..especially if one would try to squeeze 220 millifarad capacitor there :icon_mrgreen:

Here's a Czech written report about one DIY E-Bow project, you can see original US patent documentation there and more.. I would not even think about trying after reading this report ;) Especially considering actual price of E-Bow (PLUS).

Btw. E-Bow PLUS has useful 2-modes switch, not on any schemo..

T.
Do you have a technical question? Please don't send private messages, use the FORUM!

Guitarfreak