Best effect loop circuitry for tube amp

Started by Thomeeque, December 04, 2009, 05:48:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thomeeque

Hi!

I'm planning to revitalize (well, practically completely rebuild) tube amp I've built many years ago. I have quite clear vision about preamp and power amp sections, but I don't know how to implement effect loop yet and I'm looking for some inspiration. Is there some tube amp well known for perfectly implemented effect loop, let's say etalon of how should be effect loop implemented, supporting everything what one could expect and degrading signal passing thru as little as possible? After all I won't probably need all possible features (bypass-able serial loop supporting standard guitar stompboxes will be probably all I'll need), but at this moment I'm open for everything :)

Thanks, T.
Do you have a technical question? Please don't send private messages, use the FORUM!

kurtlives

I am no expert on effects loops but I have built a few Dumble ODS clones as well as the external effects loop the Dumblator. I really like the Dumblator's design, simple and effective.

It does attenuate the highs a bit, this is actually a nice thing as it can really smooth out an amp. To compensate for the loose in highs there are "bright switches" though.

Anyways Id check it out, there is a schem on schematic heaven.
My DIY site:
www.pdfelectronics.com

fpaul

Metroamp has a kit, kind of expensive ($90) but I'm guessing it is great because those guys are pretty passionate about tone.  Wish they posted the schematic but they don't.  The metroamp forum would be a good place to look for more info about other types.  I don't have one in my Marshall clone yet.  I've heard the simple ones can kill the tone and I'm too cheap to spend the 90.
Frank

Ripthorn