Programming the FV-1/what language/how hard???

Started by loss1234, December 30, 2009, 10:36:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

loss1234

hi there. i dont know if this has been covered but i cant seem to find if there are any higher level languages you can program the FV-1 in.

as i am not a programmer, i want to figure out which language to start focusing on learning to program this chip.

i have only programmed in basic (long ago) BUT i feel like for a cool chip, i would be willing to learn.

SO...

1. what is the name of the language that is native to the chip?

2. does the software allow you to use other languages?

3. is there a good book on using this language OR is it specific to this chip?

(i looked at some of the commands and i was wondering if i could find definitions for things like the accumulator and ACC in a programming book.

thanks for ANY help and sorry if this is too basic a question

cloudscapes

according to this page:
http://www.spinsemi.com/knowledge_base/inst_syntax.html
it's a form of assembly, which is as low-level as you can get. unfortunatelly, ASM is also one of the hardest to learn thoroughly.

however, I believe there are samples, and if you can learn enough to change "variables" (though asm uses no variables, but memory addresses) here in there, you can probably tweak sample reverbs a bit.

I dont think these exampels are complete projects, but it'll help yo uto grasp the structure
http://www.spinsemi.com/knowledge_base/coding_examples.html

I don't know ASM either. I just know Basic well(ish) and have been using basic compilers for AVR and dsPIC so far. I can read some C but I'm not at all comfortable with it. still, it's easier to understand C than it is ASM
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
{DIY blog}
{www.dronecloud.org}

loss1234

thanks

i have actually been reading the code examples and their forum all morning, and i must say (without sounding overly optimistic or foolish) that it