Author Topic: Problem with Breadboard build  (Read 9121 times)

guitarify

Problem with Breadboard build
« on: June 24, 2010, 09:05:53 PM »
So I have completely rebuilt this thing twice with the same result - no sound at all. One major clue is that I have never built a circuit from a schematic before, and this is the first time using a breadboard. So here are a few pics. I have 2 100K resistors in parallel since I didn't have the 47K. That should work right? I tried flipping the transistor around just to be sure I got that right, but still no luck. I'd appreciate any help figuring this out.

diydave

Re: Problem with Breadboard build
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2010, 02:48:37 AM »
- multimeter and an audioprobe my friend. The two best tools in the world to debug your circuit.  ;D

Measure your voltages on you transistor. If they are off, your transistor is misbiased.
If they are correct, there is something wrong with your signal line.
With your audioprobe you can trace back to where your signal is cut off.

Hope it helps

Bad Chizzle

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 03:35:26 AM »
It's hard to tell, but it looks very good. Your output wires may be reversed though. Like I said, it's hard to tell what's wrong without looking at the schematic.
I dig hot Asian chicks!

.Mike

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2010, 04:01:57 AM »
Assuming this is the Beginner Project...

I'm not sure if I'm missing it-- it's kind of hard to tell from the photos-- but I don't see any components actually connected to the positive rail of your breadboard.

Also, the schematic lists 5 resistors and a potentiometer. Since you are using two 100k resistors as a substitute for the 47k resistor, you should have 6 resistors. I only count 4 on your breadboard.

Did you possibly forget a couple of components?

Mike
If you're not doing it for yourself, it's not DIY. ;)

My effects site: Just one more build... | My website: America's Debate.

arma61

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2010, 07:17:10 AM »
Hi