News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

SOIC ICs?

Started by idlefaction, September 29, 2003, 01:22:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

idlefaction

just wondering if anyone's used SOIC ICs before?  they're surface mount packages.  i've ordered an RMS-to-DC-converter chip from analog devices (AD736), hoping i can make a no-parts no-footprint envelope detector out of it, but would appreciate any words of advice on treating them.

they have really short legs and are tiny, so i'll be taking care not to heat them much with the soldering iron, but maybe there are other things to look out for?

(and does anyone know of a no-parts 4-pole LP VCF i could couple it to? :roll: )
Darren
NZ

Peter Snowberg

Hi idlefaction,

I've been building systems with surface mount parts for about 10 years. I find I can build a simple circuit faster in surface mount than I can with full sized parts.

If you have a low voltage soldering iron with a very fine tip you shouldn't have problems at all.

If your SOICs are .05 pitch, just bend up every other lead and solder the unbent leads to the pads of regular old perf board. I use plated, double sided board for this. Single sided boards are a pain here and I often end up lifting a pad from them after a few part changes.

To connect the bent 'flying' pins, I use #30 wire to go from the next row of pads to the pins. Start with a few inches of stripped wire; Solder the wire into the desination pad; wrap the wire 1/2 turn around the SOIC pin; clean and wet your tip; quickly solder the wire and pin (only takes 1/4 to 1/2 second per pin); trim off the extra wire with flush cutters; there you go! The final length of wire used is a little less than .2" per pin including the through board distance.

If the pin has a resistor in series with it, you can use a 1206 package part to substitute for the wire.