Author Topic: works in bypass, hums when engaged  (Read 8210 times)

blackthumb

works in bypass, hums when engaged
« on: June 30, 2010, 06:00:03 AM »
I have recently finished the beginner project, and am experiencing some difficulties.  I dont really know where/how to start troubleshooting.  I have a DMM but i dont know exactly where to put the leads to check each component.  When its plugged in bypass mode you can hear the guitar clearly through the amp.  When the switch is engaged the LED lights but the guitar can know longer be heard, and there is a loud hum.  Thanks for any help...... i am a total newb to DIY pedals and troubleshooting

tubelectron

Re: works in bypass, hums when engaged
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2010, 06:17:35 AM »
Hi blackthumb,

1/ re-trace on a paper your circuit directly from the PCB and wiring, ignoring the original schematic.  Check polarities, pinouts, component placement, etc... Be suspicious. Use your DMM in ohms position for continuity connection controls. Then compare to the original schematic : chances are you may find your wiring or component error..

Otherwise :

2/ check all the soldered joints : these should be nice and shiny, no "bawls", only "cones". Chances are you may find a bad/dirty soldered joint, giving a false contact...

If the mistake has not appeared :

3/ the schematic and/or layout has errors - it sometimes arrives... (You may discover it in the 1/ stage, but no necessarily)
4/ the active component (IC's, Q's) are dead - killed by the mistake or coming dead - it sometimes happen too...

These basic failure research rules are OK in any cases. It should help where to find, and drive you finally to the mistake(s).

Patience, Method, and Good luck !
I apologize for my approximative english writing and understanding !
http://guilhemamplification.jimdofree.com/

aron

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2010, 09:02:53 PM »