Which microcontroller is right for me?

Started by ppatchmods, July 22, 2010, 04:51:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ppatchmods

so i have this rash and sometimes........wrong forum...sorry

i am just getting into the programming arena. i decided to take on the task of programming a microcontroller for tap tempo in an analog delay circuit. is there a right or wrong MC to try? i know absolutely nothing about it so i will be studying for a while. any wisdom on the subject (tutorials, reading, equipement ideas) would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks
When your life is over, will any of this STUFF really matter?

cloudscapes

for non DSP stuff you'll be fine with either AVRs or PICs. plenty of support, options, compilers..

know any language? C? basic? ASM? there are C and Basic compilers for both PIC and AVR
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
{DIY blog}
{www.dronecloud.org}

ppatchmods

i know as close to "nothing" as there is..... i was thinking about the amtel avr it should have all the options i need. i want to have a tempo led and a ratio pot. thanks for the help it will be a long-ish road  ;D

Bard Morons

The amount of information on the Arduino, as well as the plethora of shields (connectable modules), would likely make it ideal if you're totally new to the game.  I do not own one, nor do I really plan on it... I can't bring myself to join the party, but it does appear to be an incredible resource!  I'd suggest taking a look at some of the information on what people have done with it.  There is code floating around for doing almost anything!  Look up what libraries are in programming and then check out the libraries available for it.  I think due to the vast amounts of information on beginning with an Arduino, you'd be able to read up and start into things pretty easily.  The PIC microcontrollers are pretty cool though... much simpler to program using the C compiler than in ASM (in my opinion).

slotbot