Tube Works Blue Tube 903 - no signal when engaged?

Started by kvandekrol, December 10, 2010, 09:49:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kvandekrol

Hey guys. I'm trying to fix a Tube Works Blue Tube pedal without much luck, and was wondering if I could get some input. I've never worked on a tube-based pedal before, so there are some parts of the schematic I'm not really sure how to read.

Anyway, the problem is this: the pedal bypasses signal fine, but when the pedal is engaged, it's quiet. The red LED turns on so I know the switch is working. I used an audio probe in drive mode and found that I get an overdriven signal on pin 7 of the signal IC as expected, and I get signal from the lugs of the Drive knob, but nothing from the Hi, Lo, Mid or Output knobs. For the tube, I get clean signal on pin 2 but there's no audio signal on any of the other pins. Based on the schematic it looks like the overdriven signal should be input to pin 7 of the tube and output to pin 1, but I get no signal on either of those - just that clean signal on 2.

Here's the schematic:

http://i731.photobucket.com/albums/ww317/MillsApparatus/903.jpg

Here are my voltages on the relevant pieces:

Q1: pin 3 0.3v on, -14.3 off. No voltage on pins 1 or 2.
Q2: pin 3 -14.3v on, 0v off. No voltage on pins 1 or 2.

Power/Switching IC:
1 17.3v
2 -14.63v
3 0v
4 -17.75v
5 0v
6 0.65v
7 -14.97v
8 17.95v

Signal IC:
1 .47v
2 .47v
3 .42v
4 -13.52v
5 0v
6 0v
7 0v
8 13.68v

Tube:
1 12.72v
2 13.76v
3 -9.08v
4 0v
5 0v
6 -12.75v
7 -12.41v
8 -5.67v

Before taking these voltages, I went through and replaced all the electrolytics just in case, but that didn't have any effect. Any help would be appreciated greatly! Thanks!

PRR

> Tube:
> 1 12.72v
> 2 13.76v
> 3 -9.08v
> 4 0v
> 5 0v
>  6 -12.75v
> 7 -12.41v
> 8 -5.67v

Pins 8 and 3 are connected together. How can they have different voltages?? Something is not connected according to this plan.

> Power/Switching IC:
> 4 -17.75v
> Signal IC:
> 4 -13.52v