English Channel Worked for 10 Seconds... Help?

Started by Chris in Idaho, March 23, 2011, 01:16:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chris in Idaho

First of all hello from North Idaho!

I'm a newb.  I have worked as an electrician for a few years and I'm familiar with wires and basic electrical principals but I don't claim to know the theory behind all of the electronic components and circuits.  So far I have built a Blues Breaker clone and a BSIAB2 both from GGG kits and they worked first try. 
I bought an "English Channel" kit from OLcircuits and put it together yesterday.  I powered it with a 9v adapter, adjusted the trimmers so the top leg of the transistors measured as close to 4.5v as possible, closed it up, plugged in the guitar and amp and... nothing.  I then opened it back up and compared it with the layout and found that I had the "in" and "out" from the board connected backwards to the 3pdt switch.  I fixed that, plugged it all back in, hit the stomp switch and was rewarded with thick voxy heaven.  I flipped my Les Paul to the bridge pickup and just as I hit the first D chord in "You Wreck Me" the sound cut out.  It played just the very first attack of the chord and stopped.  So I opened it back up and looked to make sure nothing was pinched or broken or shorted to the enclosure etc and everything looked fine.  I laid the guitar down and kept the strings ringing while gently prodding the board/wires around to get things to move (hoping to find a loose connection).  The sound cut in and out and when I could hear sound it was a garbly farty decaying sound like when a 9v battery is dead.  Sometimes it would work for a few seconds on end while the strings were ringing but whenever I hit them again the attack of the notes made the sound cut completely out.