Yet Another BSIAB question...

Started by JayRock, April 15, 2011, 07:53:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JayRock

Hey all...

I am a newbie to the forum, and this place has a ton of great info, so I figured I would post a question.....

I recently purchased a BSIAB kit from GGG. I got it put together over the weekend and it didn't seem to sound right to the sound clips I've heard online. I have sockets on practically every part in the circuit to allow for easy swapping.

After troubleshooting a bit and double checking the parts, I had a .1uF and a 1 uF cap swapped. I got these back in correct and it seemed to help out quite a bit. I set the bias trim pot to about 4 VDC, which seemed to be fairly loud and open. Ok, so to this point, it makes sound, not a bad sound, but still don't sound right. So here is what I have done since... Been busy this week..

Let me describe the sound issue somewhat... With the volume and gain about 12 o'clock and ton around 3 o'clock...
The sound seems to be pretty good on higher notes, maybe the D, G, B, and E strings, but the A string and Low E string (more so the E string) sound muddy and make somewhat of a "BLATTY" sound. It isn't awful, but doesn't sound right to me, compared to other clips. The open A power chord on the A string sounds much better than the A power chord on the low E string, as the latter sounds more muddy. I don't know if this makes sense, or if anyone else has had a similar problem. I have tried to turn the bright switch on, on the amp and then dial back the tone a bit, which does help the situation for the muddy lows somewhat, but still not as defined as I would have thought, then the highs are too much. There seems to be a lack of balance. The best comparison for the low end sound is somewhat of a fuzz sound, not a tight distortion. Like I said, it isn't awful, but I was hoping for the low end to be tighter, so I can put this on my pedal board.