Bias control on Fuzz Face

Started by gaz ariff, May 17, 2011, 10:27:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gaz ariff

I've just started to build pedals (2 Fuzz Faces so far). I've been reading up on tweaking them. I've heard of bias controls, but as a beginner i'm not too sure how to add on a variable bias control. The schematic i've been using is a NPN BC108 transistor circuit. I've tried to put a link on here, but i can't seem to get it to work. So i've just put the web address in.
Thanks, Gaz

http://www.muzique.com/schem/fuzzface.gif

vendettav

well a bias would go in place of R1 i guess, you'd want a 100k trimpot in there. write it the following way: lug 3 is connected to 9+ and lug 2, lug 1 goes to the Collector of Q1 (again, it replaces R1). you want to get 4.5v in at Collector of Q1. then you can measure the resistance of the trimpot and put a fixed resistor of the same value in there. i hope im right cause i don't have much of tweaking experience with Fuzz Faces
check my music HERE

Shredtastic psycho metal!

Scruffie

Quote from: vendettav on May 17, 2011, 12:29:49 PM
well a bias would go in place of R1 i guess, you'd want a 100k trimpot in there. write it the following way: lug 3 is connected to 9+ and lug 2, lug 1 goes to the Collector of Q1 (again, it replaces R1). you want to get 4.5v in at Collector of Q1. then you can measure the resistance of the trimpot and put a fixed resistor of the same value in there. i hope im right cause i don't have much of tweaking experience with Fuzz Faces

It's standard practice to put it on the Collector of Q2, i.e. a 10k Replacing the 8k2, otherwise you're correct  :)

vendettav

^ oops thanx for that... i've never done it with FF like schems so i couldnt tell  ;D
check my music HERE

Shredtastic psycho metal!

LucifersTrip

Quote from: Scruffie on May 17, 2011, 12:44:52 PM

It's standard practice to put it on the Collector of Q2, i.e. a 10k Replacing the 8k2, otherwise you're correct  :)