Small run PCB houses?

Started by guitarrob, February 11, 2012, 02:49:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

guitarrob

I know many of you make your PCB's and I know how to make them also but for the time it takes and the end quality, I might just prefer to have higher quality unit produced by PCB houses.

To those of you that are having professional PCB's made from these smaller run board house, which ones do you find good for price/product quality?

I appreciate any help or point in the right direction.  I am researching various places at the same time.

Perhaps it is just cheaper to do it at home?

defaced

I have used BatchPCB for this with good results.  I read of other people using Dorkbot, but I have no experience with them. 
-Mike

Mike Burgundy

it *is* cheaper to DIY. But with all the work (drilling all those holes!) I'm going to go order as well. I'll still etch my own too, but from say 2-3 pcb's I wouldn't get minimum wage from the cost difference. Going to try a Dutch one - which I'm guessing won't help you much ;P

DavenPaget

It might seem cheaper to DIY at first but the cost builds up quickly , very quickly .
Having to purchase new bits every now and then and ferric chloride plus the work involved .
I just woke up .
Hiatus

bean

I have a very good relationship with Silver Circuits and I've used them for thousands of PCBs. There have been a few minor quality issues the worst of which was a few bum silk screens. I can recommend them without hesitation. They are in Malaysia, so you can expect shipping to be on the higher side, but for small runs (under 100) it's not bad. They have a prototyping service, too, if you only need around 20 or so boards. No set-up fee for that  particular service.

I'd love to see a US company match that price point, quality and turn-around. Maybe someone here knows one.

DavenPaget

I have gone up to a certain PCB Manufacturer locally , they seemed very nice and they just guided my questions  :icon_redface: