making a toggle switch that swaps between 2 caps

Started by Ocoaibass, March 03, 2012, 11:21:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ocoaibass

I've installed trim pots on resistors, but is there somewhere i :icon_cry: could learn how to put a toggle on a cap? Here's what I'm doing:

I got a Rat 2 & did the double Ruetz mod. I increased the 4.7uF cap connected to the 560ohm resistor to 10uF. It gave a deeper frequency for the sweep of the trim pot. I want to swap the 2.2uF to 4.7uF (I've already got the previous cap I pulled) but I thought that it might make an interesting option to be able to swap one or both caps' values back & forth. Who knows. It might make for an interesting variation.

When I say how, know that I'm a serious novice. Explanations are good, but I'm going to need to be pointed in a how to direction. I'll do the grunt work, but I have no idea what this would even be called, so I don't quite know how to look for it online.

arma61

Hi

one of the best resource, it's on my favs.

http://www.beavisaudio.com/techpages/Switches/

have a read, and you will figure out your solution.... and many other  ;)

"it's a matter of objectives. If you don't know where you want to go, any direction is about as good as any other." R.G. Keen

Pollinator95

*SPOILER ALERT* If you want to figure it out from the link above, don't look at this yet.

Use a DPDT switch.
WARNING: I AM A NOOB

ashcat_lt

Don't we try to avoid switching caps like that?  The caps will store a voltage while disconnected and then rapidly discharge when switched back in.  This could cause a noticeable popping sound.

Better would be to wire two 4.7s in series (total is close enough to 2.2) and use an SPST to short one of them.

Pollinator95

That's true, hadn't really considered the values. In any case, I don't think he's going to swap values mid-song  :icon_lol:
But yeah, listen to ashcat.
WARNING: I AM A NOOB

Ocoaibass