How to implement Baxandall tone stack

Started by jwblant, April 02, 2012, 01:15:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jwblant

Hey ya'll.  I'm still pretty new to building pedals, but I'm designing a pedal based off an OCD/VooDoo OD pedal.  I'm taking what I like from both pedals and adding a 2 knob tone stack to it.  I'm wanting to go with the James/Bax stack route but I'm not sure how to actually implement it.

Below, I've added the schematic for the OCD and for a schematic for the BAX stack.  The problems I've run into is where to place the stack.  In the picture of the BAX, you can see it comes after a buffer but before a amplifier.  But if I already have the first half of the op-amp and the fet/diodes for the distortion as seen, do I still need a separate op-amp for a buffer or will the amp for the gain section suffice?  And should the stack go before or after the fet/diodes? Or even after the amplifying section of the OCD? 

Thanks in advance for the help!!

Derringer

Regarding where to place the tonestack in the OCD circuit is really a matter of taste.
You may prefer the way it sounds before the diodes, after the diodes or after the second gain stage.

The bax tonestack will attenuate the signal so the OCD may or may not have enough gain to give you the volume you want without extra alteration.

I beleive that the simplest place to try the BAX in the OCD would be after the 1uf Cap coming from pin 7 of the TL082.
Try it with just the tonestack and forget about the input buffer and gain-recovery stage in the Bax in a Box schem. Ditch the HP/LP and tone control of the OCD and just use the BAX instead. Have the output of the BAX feed into that 500K volume control.