Multi-effect Unit Tips/Suggestions??

Started by Styles, April 08, 2012, 09:03:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Styles

Hello!

I've lurked these forums for quite a while now and finally registered, which i should have done loooong ago.  I'm a somewhat novice pedal builder and have about 20 some projects under my belt mostly for myself and friends.  Getting more comfortable all the time, and decided to go for broke with my next project...

I tour fairly often, and dragging around a suitcase of pedals, patch cords, and a twisted One Spot is a royal pain in the ass (and sometimes less than reliable).  So i thought, why not just hardwire a handful of pedals into one enclosure, with its own power supply built in?  Doesn't seem any more difficult that whippin out a few pedals in a row right?

Here's the plan:  Five Pedals- Overdrive (not sure yet) > Silicone Tone Bender > Torchy Phase 45/Vibe > Madbean CE2 > Rebote 2.5 Delay.  Live, I use two amps, a Classic 30 and a 5E3.  I want this unit to have a pedal out (duh (for classic 30 only)) and a dry out and always-on ZVEX SHO boost out to send to the tweed (want both options).  I was going to split the input with the AZM splitter.  There will be an FX loop w/ switching jacks to patch in a wah before the modulation stuff.

Not sure what to do about powering it- was either gonna dissect my onespot, or also found this guy at mouser:  http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Cincon/CFM1009S/?qs=Pauzw2weiyOmph5KLTeP5ht4yvdgKxVU  a 9v ac/dc switching PSU.  I think this would work?

Is there any advice that ya'll could add?  Maybe a buffer after the pedals, grounding/power advice, etc? 

So glad I finally joined, these forums are great!

-Styles

nocentelli