Tone Bender MKII DIY Help

Started by jwyles90, January 21, 2022, 12:21:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jwyles90

Hey all! I'm working my way through my first DIY pedal kit and have hit a wall when it comes to figuring out what's wrong with it. When I turn the pedal on the LED lights up, but otherwise I'm not getting any kind of signal from my guitar when it's both bypassed or engaged. When the pedal is on however, if I turn the volume up (and attack too provided the volume is up) it just makes this steady, high pitched whine/hiss that gets louder the more I increase either the volume or attack. I went through and checked the wiring to see if anything wasn't grounded and as far as I could tell everything was wired properly (granted I'm new at this so I could be missing something or misinterpreting what I found). I took an audioprobe to the components at one point and couldn't even get a signal from that, so I'm at a bit of a loss.

Here are some pictures of the wiring, PCB, and schematic. https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1mN0qF2-e-bib_bMYPs4rnR2IblxxXr1M?usp=sharing

Kevin Mitchell

Edit: My first answer didn't seem right after I posted. Can you confirm that you've wired the correct lugs for the input jack's ring and tip connection? I'm wondering if you've soldered ground the the tip lug.

And welcome to the forum!
  • SUPPORTER
This hobby will be the deaf of me

jwyles90

Oh weird, I wouldn't have even thought about that being an issue. I got the kit from BYOC, so I just assumed all the parts sent over would work with the build.

Just to make sure I'm understanding correctly, all I would need to do would be to disconnect the wire that runs from the 9v battery clip to the input jack?

Kevin Mitchell

No sorry that was my mistake. It is the right jack. I just get confused easily  :icon_lol: I updated my post probably as you were replying.