Simple tremolo pedal

Started by caprotesta, May 29, 2012, 03:50:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

caprotesta

Hi everybody.

This is my first post to the message board, so please bear with me, and I apologize in advance if I do not follow protocol.

I'm a total newbie, and want to build a simple tremolo pedal. I found a tutorial online that looks promising (it's simple, I already have all the components listed, etc.) Here is the link to the project:

http://www.instructables.com/id/Make-Your-Own-Tremolo-Effects-Pedal/

Does this schematic look doable? Are there any glaring mistakes or trouble areas? A 4.7k resistor is listed in the bill of materials, but I only see 470 resistors on the schematic. As far as the 555 timer is concerned, the tutorial lists a 555CN, and I have a 555P. Will either work?

I'm thinking that I'm going to build this on a breadboard prior to doing any PCB etching/soldering/etc. What would be the best way to build/test this? Could I build out the amplifier portion of the circuit first, then verify that it's working, and then build out the timer portion? Or vice versa?

Thank you for any/all help!

smallbearelec

Notice the one response that mentioned "distorted guitar and a ticking sound"? That's exactly what I would expect from this arrangement. The LM386 is meant to drive a small speaker, not a high-impedance guitar amp input. And while the CMOS version of the 555 has been used successfully to generate a modulating waveform, it will cause ticking in your output unless the surrounding circuit design and layout are just right.

If you simply want a demonstration of a tremolo effect, OK, build this. If you want to wind up with a gig-worthy, good-sounding, purpose-designed pedal, pick a better design. Someone here will probably refer you to the EA Trem. That's fairly simple and known to sound good, and I think some sites offer it as a kit.

Regards
SD

midwayfair