Weller WES51 Issue- Please Help

Started by Kevaus, February 08, 2019, 09:53:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevaus

Hi guys,

First of all, I'm new to this forum and I'm excited to be a part of the DIY Stompbox community  :)

I'm new to pedal building and just bought a new soldering machine. I had issues on day one with the solder not sticking to the tip. The tip also turned black and would melt the wire whenever I touchd the wire on the bottom part of the tip. I have only ever set the temp to the middle so I'm not sure why it would overheat.
I went back to the store to explain what happened and the guy at the store said not to use lead solder instead of lead free and if that didn't work to try a new tip. The lead solder didn't make a different but the new tip definitely did.
The solder would stick to the tip but the the pencil still overheats and turns brown. The tip is silver since I made sure to tin it before powering it down but the rest if it is brown. I attached a pic so you can see what I mean. I also make sure to clean the tip often with a brass sponge.

Could the soldering machine be faulty or is this common? I'd prefer just swapping it out if this uncommon rather than troubleshooting since it's brand new. I would really appreciate any help.

Thanks!

duck_arse

welcome to the forum.

from what I can see, your iron looks perfectly normal. stick with the tin/lead solder until you've mastered the process - many of us still don't use lead free. the only part of the tip you use for soldering is the end, where it's shiny and tinned. the colour of the rest of the iron is of no concern - unless the tip starts blacking and won't heat/melt the solder properly. maybe post some solder side photos of one of your boards.
don't make me draw another line.

mth5044

Looks find to me too, but your comment about it melting wire?? Are you talking about the insulation, or the actual wire?

anotherjim

Yes, you can expect the barrel of the iron to oxidise.