Author Topic: How do I connect the potentiometer to the the breadboard?  (Read 20836 times)

mt244

How do I connect the potentiometer to the the breadboard?
« on: August 28, 2012, 07:39:54 AM »
im not too sure what wires to use as my normal jumper wires cant connect to the potentiometer. Also I dont want to do any soldering just yet hence im starting of with the breadboard first.

Sorry complete noob here.

Thanks Guys

artifus

Re: How do I connect the potentiometer to the the breadboard?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 07:44:22 AM »
some pot pins will fit right into breadboard sockets as they are designed for pcb/stripboard mounting. or you could use crocodile clips.

mt244

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, 07:52:56 AM »
some pot pins will fit right into breadboard sockets as they are designed for pcb/stripboard mounting. or you could use crocodile clips.

So I could connect the pot to the breadboard like this?

http://luckylarry.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/arduino-Pot-motor.JPG

Also how would I then connect the jacks to the breadboard with soldering anything?

artifus

« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2012, 07:58:06 AM »
yes, just like that. some jack sockets are designed for pcb mounting too, but will take up valuable breadboard real estate. if you don't have any yet croc clips can be very useful and are worth getting. you may call them alligator clips.

mt244

« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2012, 08:15:26 AM »
yes, just like that. some jack sockets are designed for pcb mounting too, but will take up valuable breadboard real estate. if you don't have any yet croc clips can be very useful and are worth getting. you may call them alligator clips.

ah great thanks, the pot fits into the breadboard just fine :) Hmmm, i Dont happen to have any alligator clips at the moment, any other alternatives?

artifus

« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2012, 08:23:26 AM »