Your less than traditional ground loop issue.

Started by TheWinterSnow, October 03, 2012, 05:20:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheWinterSnow

I am a builder of an all in one tube amp load plus line signal conditioner and I have build many in the past that have worked, but now I have two where there is a ground loop issue that I cannot resolve.  I had a parts change, from open metal on the line output to all plastic jacks, so I made sure that the line out's ground (also earth through the computer/interface) to one of the potentiometers back side, which is indeed connected to the chassis.  Because the speaker out on the amp is connected to earth, the both the + and - inputs on the stompbox sit at about 22K from the DC supply's ground and subsequently the earth ground via line out.  The result is from the earth ground of the line out and the earth ground of the amp, which again is separated by a 22k load, has a 60Hz sine wave tearing up the noise floor.  Since I cannot rely on the DC supply to be grounded through the amp because there is that 22K load (the ground noise gets worse if I remove earth from the line out), I have no way of isolating the DC ground from the amp's input.  The weird thing is this is my 5th unit and the first time I had this problem, my first few units worked flawlessly.

Here is a picture depicting the overall ground circuit: