Big Tube Screamer Debate

Started by soupbone, September 01, 2014, 07:06:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

soupbone

I posted a question on another forum,that I won't mention.There's some people saying on my post that there's no audible difference between a TS808-TS-9-TS-10.Really?Some said changing the 2 resistors in the TS-9 does nothing sound wise.Anyone have any opinions on this?I've been playing guitar for almost 30 years,and I have to say there is definitely an audible difference,or am I just deaf?lol

karbomusic

Rewriting because I misread.  ::) I dunno, I never cared enough to compare them. I love the TS circuits I've designed but never been a big fan of the store bought ones everyone raves about.

FiveseveN

RG has of course covered this, and the issue at hand is discussed in the Output Buffer Stage section: http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/tstech/tsxtech.htm#obuffer
Quote from: R.G. on July 31, 2018, 10:34:30 PMDoes the circuit sound better when oriented to magnetic north under a pyramid?

mremic01

http://www.beavisaudio.com/projects/ScreamerLab/

^ Beavis doesn't hear a difference. Neither do I do. I put those resistors on a DPDT a while back and it really is a useless mod.

If you demo a TS9 against a TS808, either unit is like to sound different due to its components' tolerances. It's easy to attribute the difference to the output resistors, when tolerance is really the factor at play.
Nyt brenhin gwir, gwr y mae reit idaw dywedut 'y brenhin wyf i'.

soupbone

Quote from: FiveseveN on September 01, 2014, 07:38:15 PM
RG has of course covered this, and the issue at hand is discussed in the Output Buffer Stage section: http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/tstech/tsxtech.htm#obuffer
Well,I have known to be wrong a time or two,and this is one of those times. :icon_redface: I've read that article before,but not thoroughly.My apologies!You were correct. :icon_smile:

JohnForeman