Op Amp Muff Fuzz overdrive mods?

Started by MuffinFlop, March 05, 2015, 05:14:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MuffinFlop

Hey, all

I'm rather new to building pedals and electronics in general, so I was hoping you could help me out.
I've been tinkering with the  op amp Muff Fuzz, and was wondering if it was possible to mod it to lower the amount of distortion to put it into more of a lower gain overdrive territory.

Thanks

Mark Hammer

The first stage has a gain of 5x, so not much to tinker with there.  The 2nd stage is quirky in that there is no gain-setting feedback resistor.  Rather, the diode pair serves as the gain-setting element that the negative feedback comes through.  I can only suggest sticking maybe a 50k variable resistance (pot) in series with the diodes, and see if that does what you want.

Alternatively, since there is no treble-taming anywhere in the circuit, try this and tell me what you think.  Connect the wiper of a 50k-100k pot to the inverting input in stage 2, and one of the outside lugs to the diode pair (the leg of the pot goes between the inverting pin and diodes, right?).  Now run a cap - and I'll pull a value out of my hat and say 1000pf - from the output of that stage to the other outside lug of the pot.  Rotating the pot in one direction should reduce the clipping action of the diodes while increasing the treble-cutting action of the cap.  Rotating the other way opens up the treble and increases the clipping.   Presumably, settings in the middle give you something that is a little dirty, and not so raspy.

I would recommend building it with an LM/MC1458 dual op-amp, rather than something higher quality.  The 1458 will keep the super high-end reined in.

MuffinFlop