Help with Transistors

Started by Laguna, July 02, 2018, 01:06:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Laguna

Hi Guys!

I'm new in the forum and also new at this. I know that a couple of you will read this and say "oh, he's a noob" and yes, you're right :D
The thing is I love music and I like math, so I started learning about making pedals.

Let me post the question first, and then i tell you about what i was doing so you can skip that part if you want :P

I couldn't get J201 or 2n5457, I read in this same forum that somebody used NTE468, so i got some of those (and some NTE467, just in case the other one didn't work for me)
This is the data sheet: http://www.nteinc.com/specs/400to499/pdf/nte468.pdf

I tried building the alembic stratoblaster:
http://www.freeinfosociety.com/electronics/schemview.php?id=1192

Well, it didn't work: basically the maximum output i could get was less than the output directly from my input.
The pot DID work, but again, always LESS output than the original.
I double check all the measurements with my multimeter, the only thing that could be wrong would be the transistor. Maybe i plugged it wrong?
I reversed the transistor just to test and then i got no output. Ok, i put it back.
I tried it with the NTE467 and got the SAME results.

Then i removed the caps, as far as i understand, those are for filters, so testing without the caps should be fine for a quick test.
Of course, the result was the same. Lower output than the original input.

I tried lowering the input resistances, and remove the volume pot for maximum volume.
Here i was able to get the output to almost the same volume as the input.
I removed more stuff to get to the BASIC super BASIC circuit. Still got the same result as the previous test.
I'm sure i'm doing something wrong. Probably i have to do something now because i used a different JFET?