First project: Fuzz Shin-ei Companion clone

Started by SamuelD, August 30, 2018, 09:58:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SamuelD

Hello everyone. I'm new in this forum and in this world of DIY pedals. I've made a Big muff PI clone (with effect layout schematics) last week and now I wanna make a Fuzz Shin-ei for the bass of my band. Why the Shin-ei? Because we love the sound of that bass in "Exit music (for a film)" from Radiohead.

I have a pretty basic understanding of electronics (I'm a physicist) but I don't really know very much in pedals electronics.

Well, I based my project on this schematics, without the tone bypass. I see on the effect layout blogpost that he added a boost at the end of the circuit (because the sound is very low on the original). Apparently, the booster is based on the LPB-1.
Also I decided to add a potentiometer to control the tone a little bit, so i modified a little bit the tone part (I based that modif from the big muff tone controller part). After that modification, the second pin of the tone potentiometer were linked directly into the third pin of the volume (before the boost part) and I didn't like that. So I change the position of the volume pot to move it at the end of the circuit.

Well, in the end, my circuit look like this. With in red the modification from the original pedal. I tested it, it works ! But I have some questions.

• First of all, is there any big flaws in the schematics?
  • Moving the volume in the end could change something?

• When I change the tone part, I don't change the resistor's values, so I have:

• R14 = 10K
    • R 8 = 15K
    • C12 = 100n
    • C5 = 1n
    • pot = 100KA
    Should I change the values ? Maybe using a potentiometer that large change too much the original tone?
  • Using 100K pot instead of 50K is a really bad idea?