Sonic difference between Saturated Opamp and diode clipping

Started by Vivek, March 07, 2021, 04:32:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vivek

How does the sound of a saturated Opamp differ from hard clipping and soft clipping

When pre distortion EQ, clipping radians, post distortion EQ and final volume are kept the same ?

(I'm studying the possibility of changing the Rockman X100 distortion stage which is currently saturated Opamp into hard clip LEDs

into soft clipped gain stage feeding hard clip LEDs)

iainpunk

pure opamp clipping is often described as 'harsh'
i personally like opamp clipping over diode clipping, especially when using lower voltage levels, it can feel very 'pure' and 'raw' which i love. i'd call it a ''gravel texture''
diodes clip more 'softly' more controlled and processed. i'd call that more of a ''sandy texture''.

the slew rate of the opamp also has a lot to do with the tone of the distortion, slower is smoother, without becoming dull, like filtering does to a signal. its hard to explain the sound, but slew rate reduction is better than filtering when it comes to opamp clipping.

i strongly suggest testing and experimenting on a breadboard yourself!!!!!

cheers
friendly reminder: all holes are positive and have negative weight, despite not being there.

cheers

amptramp