DPDT On/On/On Question

Started by jwyles90, February 14, 2022, 03:55:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jwyles90

Hey all,

Sorry if this is a simple question, I'm still pretty new to all of this so I'm still learning. I'm ordering some DPDT switches for a pedal and am wondering if I can mount the solder lug kind directly onto the PCB? Lovemyswitches only seem to have the PCB mount variation with the short toggle, and I'd prefer to use the long toggle (which is only available either in solder lug or extra mini size).

Thanks!

antonis

"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

EBK

Whether you can mount the solder lug type depends on the board and how large the holes are.  Some PCBs are actually designed to have the solder lug type switches mounted to them.

In other words, what board are you using?
  • SUPPORTER
Technical difficulties.  Please stand by.

idy

And if you are ordering make sure you understand what kind of on on on is needed. There are two (mirror image) versions.

jwyles90

So I'm going to be using this board: https://aionfx.com/project/halo-distortion-sustainer/#&gid=pswgname1&pid=1
It calls for a Toggle switch DPDT on-on-on, which I'm assuming most DPDT on-on-on switches I've seen would work as long as they're the correct size.

antonis

Both of above posted should be fine..

Solid lugs may be "loose" if placed centered but you can off-set the switch either upwards or downwards to make physical contact with pads sides..

"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

digi2t

As idy mentioned regarding ON-ON-ON switches...