cab sim mod question -- Lart's "simple cab sim"

Started by pee-j, January 31, 2023, 07:00:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pee-j

hi,

I'm very new to cab sims, I mean the entire genre... usage, what to expect, etc...
I'm building my first one, Lart's simple cab sim -- see yeraym's post in "Any cab simulator circuit worth building?"

but before I build it, I tried some modifications in LTSpice (which is a new experience for me, too)
and using 3906/3904 pairs, I came to a finding that changing C7 and C9 to 10nF, 3.9nF, respectively,
will produce a nicer "curve" that goes steeply down after 4kHz,
and doesn't produce a high bump-up in the same region (around 2-3-4kHz)...

is this a good idea?

I mean, I can change 2 caps, back and forth, no problem, but I don't have the basic experience of using cab sims...
any maybe what I'll like is something like the "charming fruity taste in wine", which shouldn't be there at all, other then the grape's taste, according to Bordeaux farmers :)

of the the 3 curves published by yeraym, the one with 3906/3904 transistors appears to me as better than the other two...
cause it goes down sooner around 4kHz..
but again, what "better for me" means might be anything from very bad to totally wrong :)

would you even mod this cab sim?

thanks in advance,

Peter

this is from yeraym's post:

the LTSpice file is the work of Yeraym (vulcanofx)
in fact if you were to download it, you should go there, or click this link  cause otherwise it seems I can't attach it...

deadastronaut

with cab sims i would recommend going by what your ears like.

breadboard it,  plugin an overdrive ,  out to your mixer/sound card,  then tweak....

i wouldnt get hung up on graphs either...  8)
https://www.youtube.com/user/100roberthenry
https://deadastronaut.wixsite.com/effects

chasm reverb/tremshifter/faze filter/abductor II delay/timestream reverb/dreamtime delay/skinwalker hi gain dist/black triangle OD/ nano drums/space patrol fuzz//

GibsonGM