Valvecaster problem and new member

Started by Joeandamy, March 20, 2023, 06:59:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joeandamy

Hello I'm Joe and I have got to be doing something wrong . I have used every point to point diagram and while I finally got it to work the gain, tone, vol do nothing. I have a long and funny story behind this whole thing I won't bore you with , I am new to the diy "tube pedal" but 20 years ago I did build a little champ amp , so can someone maybe take a look at the pic an tell me what's going on. Thank you
Joe

Joeandamy

So the voltages are
Pin 1/ 3.3
Pin 2/ -.676
Pin 3/ -.1
Pin 4/0
Pin 5/ 11.95
Pin 6/ 8.1
Pin 7/ -1.25
Pin 8 /0
Pin 9/ 5.85

Joeandamy

Caps are
C1, 0.01uf
C2, 0.047uf
C3, 0.047uf
C4,. 560uf (closest to the 1uf it calls for what I had here)

mozz

• SUPPORTER

Joeandamy

I used this one for the tone gain and vol.

mozz

Not layout, schematic, your voltages seem wrong.
  • SUPPORTER

GibsonGM

Welcome to the forum, Joeandamy!  No worries, it's usually just a wiring error.

FYI, in case you need it, here is a tube pinout link - pins are read 'from below' with 9 being to the right, just to ensure we're on the same page.   
https://www.evatco.com.au/tube-pin-out-configuration/

Maybe you could walk thru the schematic here and ensure that this is the same thing? Tracing the wires on your build and so on.  It's very hard to operate from 'pictures', and there's no real way to know if the 'Instructables' pic is correct!   http://beavisaudio.com/projects/valvecaster/

We'll get it going, just have to go thru the first steps to make sure everyone knows what's going on, and find out where you're at 'electronically'.  If you built an amp kit, you can get this going with a little debugging, for sure!

• SUPPORTER