Patch bay for pedalboard

Started by adewalker, January 10, 2004, 06:09:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

adewalker

Hi All,

Newbie here, just found your amazing forum!  So much stuff, so many projects etc.  :shock:   Congrats to Aron and all.

A question which I hope someone can with me with.

I want to build a small 8 way (jack) patchbay for my pedalboard to handle the connections to and from the amp and guitar, amp fx send and return and the 2 effect chains on the board.  In other words, 4 pairs of jack sockets mounted in a box, the sockets of each pair wired together, but each pair is independent.  I've seen something similar on looper.com.

My question is, are there any precautions I need to take to avoid any ground loops, noise, rf interference etc?

Hope my question makes sense.

Thanks,

Ade.   :)

james t

Hi Ade,

Being new to this stuff as well, I welcome you and encourage you - as I am learning, these devices can be constructed on your own with patience and understanding.

My hope is that this is of some help to you.  I do not know where you will locate exactly what you seek.  I have found, however, that R.G. Keen has an excellent article regarding using a remote footswitch at //www.geofex.com.  I do not know him personally, but have seen enough stuff with his name associated with it to know that he knows what he is talking about (and that if there are issues associated with a task he is undertaking - like ground loops, interference, etc... - he has most likely considered them in his design).

It may not be exactly what you need, but it may be a good starting point in your quest for switching capabilities.  It does have enough jacks for what you described - if I am reading it correctly, you can connect up to six pair of fx in/out jacks not including overall input and output jacks.

Good luck,
james t

Ansil

Quote from: adewalkerHi All,