amplifier classes

Started by { antonio }, May 02, 2004, 11:23:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

{ antonio }

right now i am studying for a class.  and i figurred that everyone here might be able to answer this question.  

i wanted to know if anyone knows the difference between the classes of amplifiers.

i understand the efficiency portion of them (ie class a is only 25% efficient)

but what are the physical differences.  (ie what schematics or basic cookbook designs are used to define each of them.

any help and links are  greatly appreciated.  thanks. :wink:
shalom + godspeed.  antonio.
www.myspace.com/magnificat

toneman

• SUPPORTER
TONE to the BONE says:  If youTHINK you got a GOOD deal:  you DID!

jjs

You could try the "tech info" section on www.aikenamps.com. Many information there.

Kaiowas

http://sound.westhost.com/class-a.htm

This speaks mostly about Class A, but it also has some info about the others and some comparisons
"De quién era la piragua?!"

Kaiowas

niftydog

try good ol' tpub.com!

Class A amps are single transistors, biased in the middle between cut-off and saturation.  Collector current flows for 360 degrees.

Class B amps are usually two transistors in a "push-pull" configuration, both biased at cut-off.  Collector current flows for 180 degrees in each transistor, making up the full cycle.

Class C amps are single transistors, reverse biased, and only conduct for less than 180 degrees.   They use resonant circuits to "recreate" the sine wave.  Normally used for RF amps and oscillators.

Don't ask me about class D... haven't sat down and looked into them yet.  There's heaps of others, but they're variations on the above.
niftydog
Shrimp down the pants!!!
“It also sounded something like the movement of furniture, which He
hadn't even created yet, and He was not so pleased.” God (aka Tony Levin)

csj

shalom antonio,

As a very bare minimum consider this...