Looking for a Thesis subject

Started by carrejans, May 14, 2008, 07:53:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

carrejans

Hi all,
I'm studying Electronic Engineering. Next schoolyear, I have to make a Master's Thesis. My interest is off course: audio.

Most of students will do this thesis in cooperation of a company. I contacted a lot of companies, but most of them didn't had the time/place/... at the time. The few that were positive didn't have an interesting subject.
But we are also alowed to make a thesis without a company; just in our school.

Now I was thinking of doing something with DSP or something else digital. This semester I have classes about DSP and just a few labs (only some MatLab stuff). Most of the things we learn are theoretical, so I don't have any experience with DSP in practice.

So, now I'm brainstorming to find a suitable subject. And looking for some help.  ;)
Are there any new developments the last years on the subject of DSP in audio? New ideas, new processors, ...?
Is there something that you always wanted to see made; but have no time for?

All help is appreciated

Thank you.

"Master's thesis: a piece of work for conclusion of the master's program. By doing so, the student shows an analytical and synthetical capacity or an independent problem-solving aptitude on an academic level. The delivered work reflects the student's general critical-reflective or research-minded attitude."

JimRayden

What about an attempt to divide a mono guitar signal to six different outputs? Extracting the string signals exactly would be impossible but what if it was a synth that would analyze the input signal and use up to six oscillators to achieve a similar result to six independent audio outputs or, more practical yet, as midi output.

Well it's better than nothing. :D

----------
Jimbo

carrejans

Quote from: JimRayden on May 14, 2008, 11:46:52 AM