News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

microchip ADC - DAC

Started by Dimitree, December 28, 2010, 04:51:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dimitree

hi everyone
I was wondering if microchip make some good ADC or DAC, so I searched on their website and noticed that the only ADC with a high sample rate is the MCP3901. it says: Max Sample Rate (samples/sec) 64000. this means that it can be used to sample an analog signal at 44.1khz? it's a 16bit ADC.
for the DAC, the max value is 12bit. now since I'm not an expert of those things, how can I understand if those DAC could be used for audio? (I don't mind for the 12bit, it's just for fun)
many thanks everyone!

zeptin

I'm finding it a bit hard to interpret the datasheet for the MCP3901, but from what I can see it isn't suitable for good quality audio. Judging from some of the performance graphs it isn't intended to be able to handle the full audio range (i.e. up to 20kHz) and I see the figure of 15ksps popping up a lot. If you want my opinion, go for a codec chip like the ones made by Analog Devices: http://www.analog.com/en/audiovideo-products/audio-codecs/products/index.html

Those are designed for audio and are easily capable of 16 or 24 bit operation. They also have the ADC and DAC in one chip, which makes it a bit easier to work with them. The only downside is that they're all almost certainly surface mount packages, which may make them unsuitable for what you want to use them for.

Another option is using one of the dsPIC microcontrollers from Microchip, there are a few models that have 16 bit DACs for you to use, along with 12 bit ADCs, and they're reasonably powerful devices for basic DSP or audio work. The two devices I know have DACs are the dsPIC33FJ128GP802 and the dsPIC33FJ128GP804. You might be able to get these in a DIP package, which will be a lot easier to work with than a surface mount codec.

Hope this helps a bit :-)

Dimitree

thanks it helped!